Fall 2015 Seminars

Scroll down to see upcoming seminars. To read a full description of each seminar, click on the seminar title. Or click here to download our brochure in PDF format.

Click here to see seminars we have presented in the past.



Seminar code: SCH-F21

Acceptance and Commitment Therapy:
Promoting Rapid and Lasting Change in Clinical Practice

Benjamin Schoendorff, MA, MSc

2-day seminar

Date: Thursday, September 24,
and Friday, September 25, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: MEI-F10

Treating Individuals with Anger and Aggressive Behaviour:
A Life Span Treatment Approach

Donald Meichenbaum, PhD

Date: Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: SOL-F10

Itís the Law:
What Every Therapist and Counsellor Needs to Know

Robert Solomon, LLB, LLM

Date: Friday, October 16, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: FER-F20

Post-Traumatic Growth:
A Journey of Resilience and Hope

Lisa Ferentz, LCSW-C, DAPA

2-day seminar

Date: Monday, October 19,
and Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: HDY-F30

Encounter-centered Couples Therapy:
A Path to Relational Maturity

Hedy Schleifer, MA, LMHC

3-day seminar

Date: Thursday, October 22,
Friday, October 23,
and Saturday, October 24, 2015

Location: Multi-Faith Centre/Koffler House
(569 Spadina Avenue, Toronto)

Seminar code: CAR-F1A

Advanced CBT for Insomnia with Comorbid Conditions:
A Client-Centred, Evidence-Based Approach

Colleen Carney, PhD, CPsych

Date: Monday, October 26, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: SFI-F20

Calming the Fear-Driven Brain:
Neurofeedback in the Treatment of Developmental Trauma

Sebern Fisher, MA

2-day seminar

Date: Thursday, October 29,
and Friday, October 30, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: HAR-F10

Learning and Experiencing the Feldenkrais Method

Marion Harris, GCFP

Date: Saturday, November 7, 2015

Location: Multi-Faith Centre/Koffler House
(569 Spadina Avenue, Toronto)

Seminar code: JFI-F20

To Err Is Human:
Therapist Mistakes and Therapeutic Opportunities

Janina Fisher, PhD

2-day seminar

Date: Monday, November 9,
and Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: GAR-F11

Self-Regulation in Children with Autism, ADHD, and Sensory Disorders:
Keeping Bodies, Minds, and Emotions on Task

Teresa Garland, MOT, OTR

Date: Monday, November 16, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: GAR-F12

Self-Regulation Strategies and Programs for Adults with ADHD

Teresa Garland, MOT, OTR

Date: Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: PRE-F11

Understanding and Treating Depression:
Integrative Treatment Approaches

John Preston, PsyD, ABPP

Date: Thursday, November 19, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: PRE-F12

Building Resilience and Enhancing Treatment Outcomes

John Preston, PsyD, ABPP

Date: Friday, November 20, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: VAN-F2A

DBT Intensive:
Going Beyond the Basics

Sheri Van Dijk, MSW, RSW

2-day seminar

Date: Monday, November 23,
and Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Location: Multi-Faith Centre/Koffler House
(569 Spadina Avenue, Toronto)

Seminar code: SCH-F22

Advanced ACT:
Relationship-Focused Acceptance and Commitment Therapy

Benjamin Schoendorff, MA, MSc

2-day seminar

Date: Thursday, November 26,
and Friday, November 27, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: LAN-F10

Treating Trauma-Related Alterations in Consciousness:
A Four-Dimensional Model

Ruth Lanius, MD, PhD

Date: December 3, 2015

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: STO-TOR

Living an Intimate Life:
Exploring the Existential Dimension in Clinical Work (Toronto)

Michael Stone, MA

Date: Monday, November 30,
and Tuesday, December 1, 2015

In TORONTO

Location: YWCA Elm Centre (87 Elm Street, Toronto)

Seminar code: STO-OTT

Living an Intimate Life:
Exploring the Existential Dimension in Clinical Work (Ottawa)

Michael Stone, MA

Date: Monday, December 7,
and Tuesday, December 8, 2015

In OTTAWA

Location: RA Centre (2451 Riverside Drive, Ottawa)